Blood Orange Thursday, 26th July 2018

Blood Orange

Blood Orange

Blood Orange shares 'Charcoal Baby' and 'Jewelry'

Watch the videos for two new tracks now, taken from forthcoming album, Negro Swan

Today, producer, multi-instrumentalist, composer, songwriter and vocalist Devonté Hynes has released the first two songs/videos from his forthcoming fourth album as Blood Orange, Negro Swan, released on Domino on August 24, 2018.  The videos, for two songs called “Charcoal Baby” and “Jewelry”.


“Jewelry” was directed by Hynes, and stars Janet Mock, Kai the Black Angel, and Ian Isiah, among others.  “Charcoal Baby” was directed by Crack Stevens.



   

Negro Swan was written and produced by Hynes. Says Hynes:

 

“My newest album is an exploration into my own and many types of black depression, an honest look at the corners of black existence, and the ongoing anxieties of queer/people of colour.  A reach back into childhood and modern traumas, and the things we do to get through it all.  The underlying thread through each piece on the album is the idea of HOPE, and the lights we can try to turn on within ourselves with a hopefully positive outcome of helping others out of their darkness.”

Negro Swan will be available on August 24th 2018, with LP to follow.  The Domino Mart deluxe double LP is pressed on limited edition gold vinyl with a double sided 24 x 36 poster, and comes with MP3s. The indie retail version deluxe double LP is pressed on orange vinyl. 


Hynes will be touring in support of Negro Swan this fall.  The tour dates are below.

 

Sun Aug 5 - Montreal, QC - Parc Jean-Drapeau, Osheaga Festival

Fri Sept 14 - Vancouver, BC - The Orpheum, Westward Music Festival

Sat Sept 15 - Seattle, WA - Moore Theatre

Sun Sept 16 - Portland, OR - Roseland

Thurs Sept 20 - Oakland, CA - Fox Theatre

Fri Sept 21 Los Angeles, CA - Greek Theatre

Sat Sept 22 - Las Vegas, NV - Downtown Las Vegas, Life is Beautiful Festival

Wed Sept 26 - New York, NY - Central Park Summerstage

Thurs Sept 27 - Philadelphia, PA - The Fillmore

Fri Sept 28 - Washington, DC - Lincoln Theatre

Mon Oct 1 - Toronto, ON - Danforth Music Hall

Tue Oct 2 - Toronto, ON - Danforth Music Hall

Sat Oct 6 - Austin, TX - Zilker Park, Austin City Limits

Sat Oct 13 - Austin, TX - Zilker Park, Austin City Limits

Mon Oct 29 - London, UK - O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire

Tue Oct 30 - Amsterdam, NL - Melkweg Max

Fri Nov 2 - Paris, FR - Grande Halle de la Villette - Pitchfork Music Festival Paris

Sat Nov 3 - Sun Nov 4 - Turin, IT - Lingotto Fiere, Club To Club Festival

Tues Nov 6th - Berlin, DE - Columbia Theater

Thurs Nov 8th - Copenhagen, DK - The Grey Hall

Wed Nov 7 - Sat Nov 10 -  Reykjavík, Iceland - Iceland Airwaves Festival   

Blood Orange

BUY

Blood Orange

Blood Orange

Physical

Blood Orange

Blood Orange

Digital